Thursday, December 31, 2015

My Top Picks for 2016!

My Review:

Shalvis is back with another new series that will have you falling head over heels in love with the characters, the town and a dog named Thor who may or may not look like a cat. :-)

Ever since her parents passed away Pru has spent her time trying to make up for there mistake. She has done everything possible for those who were affected by the accident and now it's Finn O'Rileys turn. Although she has helped him already she wants to see him happy and is willing to do whatever it takes to make that happen.

Finn's father passed in the accident and he had to leave college to come to take care of his younger brother. Now he owns a successful bar but he doesn't have the time for fun or women anymore at least not until Pru comes into his life. Secrets will be revealed and feelings will build but Finn will have to decide if he can get passed these secrets and hold on to the woman he has grown to love.

I want to start off by saying I absolutely fell in love with this book from the set up of the story to each one of the characters. Pru was selfless, fun and just had this way about her that I loved. Finn is smart, drool worthy and a protector by nature. These two characters just worked. Finn has been added to my book boyfriend list for sure!

Finn and his friends pull Pru into join there group and what a group they are! I couldn't find one person that I didn't like. I enjoyed there closeness and how well they got along. Shalvis wrote them with such humor that made them just come to life. I am really excited to read about each and everyone of them when that time comes.

This is a classic Shalvis story that is filled with humor, love and banter. It also has a little drama but it's shortly lived. There is no guessing on what will happen with this couple once everything comes to light.

This book takes place in San Francisco which was a nice change. Shalvis describes the scenery and buildings perfect. I've never been but just hearing about it makes me want to hop on a plane.

With the Lucky Harbor series we got words of wisdom from the characters when each chapter started.

In Heartbreaker Bay we get hashtags and I have to say some of them are hilarious!!

If you loved Lucky Harbor I guarantee you will fall in love with Heartbreaker Bay! I am definitely looking forward to reading more of this series in the new year.

This is a must read!

Expected publication: June 28th 2016 by Avon

My Review: 
Holy hell! What an outstanding first book in a brand new series by Jordan! I can honestly say I don't think I ever read a romance book where the hero is an inmate in prison. Just the plot and the uniqueness of this story made me want to read it. 

Knox has been incarcerated in Devils rock for 8 years for murder. Although he is supposed to get out someday he feels like it's so far away and is just trying to survive day to day. When a fight breaks out Knox is taken to get checked out by medical and meets the new nurse. He knows he isn't good enough for a good girl like Briar. 

Briar is a nurse and only going to be working at Devils rock until they hire a new medical staff. When Knox comes in all banged up she is scared of him but yet she feels something else she is not familiar with. When Briar and other staff are taken hostage Knox comes to the rescue but when Briar returns word is he is out and she knows she will never see him again. 

I really liked this book. I liked it so much I had to stay up and finish it. Knox seems so hard and not caring but little by little you can see how Briar is getting to him. 

These two really don't have much of a relationship other then sex. Jordan wrote these scenes with lots of details and naughty words. With some books you only get one big scene but not with this one. There are multiple scenes of these two together and wow are they hot! 

The characters were written really well and they were interesting. We meet North who is Knoxs brother and who happens to be in devil rock with him and Reid who is the head of "the gang" in Devils rock. I can't wait to see what Jordan will have happen to these two bad boys. 

In this story a second story starts to form and will continue over to book 2 which I am seriously excited for. It's Reid's and wow it just sounds like it will be excellent. 

Overall this is a brand new series I am looking forward too and can't wait for everyone to meet the men of Devils Rock!

Expected publication: March 29th 2016 by Avon

My Review:
This is a different book from Lemmon of what I become to expect from her but I loved it. In this book Lemmon pushes the boundaries of a hero that I loved, hated and wanted to rescue. 

The story starts off with Tucker being released from prison and looking to finally make his dad pay for the horrible past he and his bother endured. What Tucker doesn't plan is to run in Morgan. 

Morgan is having the worst birthday. She finds out her boyfriend cheated on her with her best friend. After walking to get wine to get drunk to forget this day she runs into Tucker. Morgan doesn't realize that her whole life is about to change. 

I loved how the story progresses from them knowing each other from high school, to becoming friends of sorts and then becoming lovers. I wasn't sure how it would turn out but I was very pleased with ending. 

One of the things I loved about this story was how Lemmon had Tucker and Morgan's sides. I loved knowing what both characters were thinking and feeling while all the craziness was going on. 

I haven't read many books with the hero being a virgin and yup Tucker was one! I understood why and well that mainly has to do with his messed up past. Finally when he and Morgan got together I wanted scream with glee. 

This story was deep and showed that with the right person standing by you people can begin to heal from whatever ghosts they may have. 

I loved the ending and how it was wrapped up. I'm grateful that Lemmon didn't have them get married, engaged or have a baby. She leaves it open to where they will decide together what will be next for them. 

If you love Lemmon's bad boys with an twist you will definitely enjoy Tucker. Add this to your tbr for January 2016!

Expected publication: January 19th 2016 by Loveswept

My Review:
This was my first Gerard book and I couldn't put it down. It was filled with nonstop suspense and surprises at every turn. 

Bobby is a military contractor and is currently on a job overseas. Normally women are a distraction and you can never tell if you are being set up but there is something about Talia that draws him in. 

Talia is working a job and her supervisors want information that Bobby has. She is to do whatever it takes to get that even if it means sleeping with him. As the week goes on the more she falls for him but when Bobby returns back to the hotel room she is gone. 

One of the things I loved about this book was it was done in 3 parts: when Bobby and Talia meet, then 6 years later , and the end. There story was filled with love, betrayal and terrorist at every turn. 

Gerard did a fantastic job in describing even the tiniest details that helped make this book feel real. I loved the characters and how they came together. I didn't find anything about this book that was boring or slow. I was dying to know what would happen with every turn of the page. 

Since this was the first book I have read in this series I had no idea who the previous characters were from the earlier books but I did love their funny banter and how well they worked together while on missions. 

Yes this is a romantic suspense but it was more of the suspense that captured me. The ending was done well and all things that were left undecided were wrapped up. After reading this I definitely want to start this series from the beginning and enjoy the ride Gerard takes me on. 

A pre order must for 2016!!

Expected publication: February 23rd 2016 by Pocket Books

My Review:
Sands is back with another Argeneau book! I still can't believe this is book 23 and it looks like Sands doesn't plan to stop! 

Mary is driving in her RV to go to the campground her friends own. This is the first time she is going alone since her husband passed away last year. While driving she runs over something but when she stops to check it out she doesn't see anything so she continues on her journey until she finds a naked man in bedroom who definitely needs medical attention. 

Dante was kidnapped, drugged and stripped but he escaped. The only thing he didn't plan on was running right into a RV and being run over by his life mate. Now he has to find out who kidnapped him and his brother, get Mary to agree to spend forever with him and get his twin back all in matter of weeks. This won't be easy but Dante is up for the challenge. 

In the past few years I have pretty much given up on paranormal romance but this series is still one that I enjoy reading. Sands does an awesome job with writing these characters and the sense of humor she brings with them. There were so many parts that I had a good laugh at. 

We met the twins so many books ago so I wasn't sure what Dante's story would be like but I really enjoyed it. It took sometime for me to like Mary but when she told her story of her marriage I felt torn between feeling sorry for her and wanting to give her a high five. She was one strong tough as hell woman. 

The one issue I did have was seeing her as 62. Honestly I didn't want to think about her getting it on with Dante but I am happy how it turned out and how Sands had them come together as a couple. 

Normally the mortals kind of freak out when they are told about the immortals so I was kind of surprised how well Mary actually took it and understood the rules and such. Like a said before she was strong for a heroine. 

Of course we get to see some previous characters from other books which is always a plus especially if you already read there story. I would have liked to see more of them but I understand not everyone could be in this one. 

Overall I was happy with the ending. It doesn't leave on a cliffhanger but it does set up for the next book because they need to find Dante's twin. Yippee! So yes it looks like 
Tomasso's story is next and it takes place in Venezuela!! 

A must read for all Argeneau fans!! 

Expected publication: February 23rd 2016 by Avon

My Review:
Proby has another hit series on her hands with her brand new series Fusion. This is the first book in the series and wow I couldn't put it down. 

In this book we meet Addie who owns 1/5 of the brand new successful restaurant Seduction. Although the restaurant is doing great her love life has seen better days until the sexy ex rock star shows up looking for a job. Addie is determined to find the right guy for her and she is convinced Jake is not it but Jake is about to prove her wrong. 

Jake had an successful career but after his band broke up he decided he liked producing but lately he has missed singing and playing his guitar. When he first sees Addie he knows he has to get to know her because there is something about her. Playing Seduction is just what he needs in his life and it also brings him closer to the woman he wants. 

I'm going to start with the characters first... I loved them!! I liked that this series is about 5 best friends who are business partners. There conversations are real, funny and so entertaining. I couldn't help but fall in love with each and everyone of them. Addie was strong, independent, successful and unique in so many ways. Jake was the bad boy who grew up and became a man who was more then a rock star. He was absolutely delicious! 

Addie and Jake had some great chemistry and not just in the bedroom. They joked, laughed and had some deep conversations that brought them closer together. 

The sex scenes are detailed and it just so happens there are more then one and some contain dirty words. Ladies look out Jake is a stud! 

As far as the plot goes again props for it being 5 women who owned their own successful restaurant. Majority of the book takes place there and I have to say Proby made it feel so real with the way it was described. 

As I was reading I was waiting for something real dramatic to happen such as a kidnapping or something like that but overall I was extremely happy how it went. 

I liked how Proby went into all the losers Addie dated and had her character grow and learn from each one to finally find "the one

This is a new series I am looking forward to reading and I can't wait for the next book!! 

If you loved the with me series you will you will fall in love with this new compelling series by Proby coming April 2016! 

Expected publication: April 12th 2016 by William Morrow Paperbacks

My Review: *spoiler*
Foster delivers another strong and entertaining novel in the Ultimate series. In this book we finally get Armie and Merissa woo hoo! I was hoping it would be worth the wait and oh man I completely devoured this book in one sitting. 

In the previous books adding up this one we see the attraction between Armie and Merissa and with each book it grows. This story starts off with them basically avoiding one another and Armie telling her she deserves better. Then the action starts. Merissa's bank is robbed and Armie is there to save her. They become closer and then sure enough they both get on the same page. 

What made this couple so believable was the past books and what they had to go through to get to the "now". Did they rush into a relationship? Not at all since it has been building over time which I happened to love. It kept me intrigued on what would happen and when. 

Without giving a lot away Merissa has a hell of a couple weeks and Armie does in his own way. These characters are both going through different things but when they are together they are stronger. 

One of my favorite parts that is also a laugh out loud moment is when Merissa writes " Rissy was here" in permanent marker on Armies ass. The way Foster wrote that scene was absolutely hilarious. 

This book is a great addition to this series and while this looks like the last book fear not! It looks like the bodyguards will each get there own book! * happy dance* hopefully Leeses book will be the first in the brand new series! 

Add this to you TBR for February 2016!!!

Expected publication: February 23rd 2016 by HQN Books

My Review:
I love when I find new authors to read and Martin just happens to be one of them. This is the first book I have read by her and wow I fell in love with fast paced world she has built. 

Ethan is an ex homicide detective who is now working for his cousin who owns a bodyguard type business. He is brought in because some threatening letters were sent to 10 models. Since there is a big lingerie show coming up they are taking no chances. What Ethan didn't expect is to fall for Valentine. 

Valentine is more then just a pretty face. She is only doing this to earn money to finish her degree to become a veterinarian. The last thing she has time for is a man in her life. But the more Ethan is around protecting her the more she wants him but first he has a killer to catch. 

I really liked the plot and I wondered if Martin was watching the Victoria secret fashion show to get an idea for this book. :-) The descriptions of the models and materials they wore made it easy to picture everything. 

The characters were just awesome and likable. In this books we meet so many characters sometimes it was hard to keep track but the main ones always ended up standing out which was a plus.

I really liked the mystery that was brought to the story. Who was this guy(s)? What did they want? It was all just so fast paced I didn't realize I was almost to the end of the story. Of course when it came to guessing the bad guys I only got it half right but it was the whole journey that was fun and exciting. 

I am really looking forward to this series and I can't wait to see where Martin takes these new characters. In this book you meet the characters and the challenges they have in this book. Yippee! This is one romantic suspense series I am looking forward to in 2016!
Expected publication: January 26th 2016 by Zebra

My Review:
This book I felt was definitely more of a suspense then a romance since the romance doesn't really come alive until about half way. With that being said I think this series has some great potential. 

Rob entered his four younger siblings in witness protection after someone broke into there family home to kill them. Now with his father in prison it's up to him to find out who has the hit on his family and figure out how to keep distance between him and a sexy school teacher. 

Adri knows Rob isn't telling the whole truth on who he is or why is younger brother hardly speaks but there attraction is off the charts. She must decide if he's worth saving or if she should let it go but the closer they become the more she can't let him go. 

This series starts off with a hit on the family and needless to say it's not finished in this book and will pick up in the second book. Normally I like when stories finish but I'm so glad this one is keeping me on the edge of my seat. 

Of course this story has romance but it also has action, adventure and a very real threat. Knowing who trust has gone out the window and when death becomes very real it's time for this family to wonder if they should leave their old life forever and start over or go back and finish this war. 

I love how Rob and Ardi walk around there attraction to one another. They don't just fall into bed which is nice but Rob actually wants to take her out which isn't normal for him since he has had his share of hookers and celebrities. 

I loved wondering what would happen and how Desrochers would have this book end. Lee is next and it seems like a certain FBI agent has a crush! Yippee!! Can I just say I'm dying to see what happens with this family and what's next for them? 

The story ends with things a little uncertain for this family but it has 3 more adult siblings to make it more interesting. 

Will they stay in witness protection or will they finally go back to what they grew up around? I'm excited to see where this series goes!

Expected publication: January 19th 2016 by InterMix

My Review:
I really enjoyed this story and the uniqueness of the plot. 

Beth is trying to get over that her ex is now married to her younger sister. Her roommate thinks she needs a night out and definitely needs to get laid. Beth doesn't plan on going through with it until meets Jake aka Mac. After the night they spent together Beth thinks they could maybe have something until she realizes Jake is gone. 

Jake can't stop thinking about Beth but he has a daughter to think about and her well being is more important. Now that he is starting his new job he hopes everything will eventually work out well that is until he realizes not only was Beth not a one night stand but that he will be working closely with her. Can these two make it work? Or will the job come first? 

I really enjoyed Beth and Jake. I like how Jake wanted to help Beth and how quickly they had not only a friendship but it became more. I know Jake was confused on what he wanted but I loved how he fought himself in doing what he thought was right and what he wanted. 

This story had some real cute moments and of course some sabotages to help end Beth's career. I was actually surprised to find out who was behind all the crazy things going on which was nice. I liked that suspense of it. 

I adored how Beth and Jakes daughter took to one another. Although we see Jakes ex and learn the story of while he was starting over I never wanted her in the picture. 

Madison is a new author to me and this book won me over. I am looking forward to reading more of this new unique series. I can't wait to meet the rest of the news team!

Expected publication: March 1st 2016 by Berkley

My Review:
This is the first book in a new series by Kincaid and already I am head over heels in love with it. I'm so glad Alex and Zoe were the first couple for this series. 

Alex is a firefighter and is used to being reckless but one thing is for sure he is damn good at his job. After a bad decision he is forced to do a month of community service or be kicked out. Although not happy about it he does everything he is asked and falls for the one woman he shouldn't, his captains only daughter. 

Zoe always wanted to be a chef and has trained with the best but she wanted more. Now that she is back home she is the director of a soup kitchen in a bad part of town. When Alex shows up for his community service she doesn't think he will make it but with his help everything she ever wanted will come true. 

I loved the suspense of when Alex and Zoe would finally get together. Although it took awhile and a lot flirting the wait was well worth it. These two open up to each other and you can see it's more then sex. They have a great connection. 

So far after reading this book I liked the characters. They stood out and I was so glad Nick made an appearance because I just loved him! 

Although most of this book takes place in the soup kitchen I did love the fire scenes and how they were described. They felt so real. 

I honestly couldn't put this book down! I am really looking forward to this new and exciting series from Kincaid. It's fun, heartwarming and oh so sexy! A must read for 2016!

Expected publication: January 26th 2016 by Zebra

My Review:
Let me start off by saying I am totally loving this series! 

Anya is looking to branch out on her own and her ex won't give her the divorce she has been asking for so when her friend needs help planning her wedding she heads to Santa Fe. Anya isn't looking for love but when she is paired with the best man things start to look up. 

I really liked Anya and Josiah. They didn't start out on good terms but I thought there banter and snarky comments were a version of foreplay. After a few meeting with each other you can total see the attraction between them and I liked how they just seemed more natural with one another. 

One of my favorite parts of the book was when they had the couples bachelor and bachelorette party. They had a great time and I surprised when they played Friends trivia. Lol It was great and since I love that show I'm glad Murray included it in the story. 

I really do enjoy each and every character in this story and series so far. Anya was strong and determined to make a go out of the career she wants. Josiah was smart and had this easy way about him. Although these two were total opposites the way they made it work was awesome. 

The only real issue I had is while reading the author skips over time. An example is It starts somewhere and jumps two weeks later. I'm one of those people who want to know what's happening during that time? 

I also would've liked to see maybe some on field time. Sure the players worked out, watch game footage but I missed the on the field time. Hopefully there will be some in the next book. 

The ending ended up having a epilogue wedding of Anya and Josiah's best friends. I have to say I was so glad it wasn't them. It also had more promise that more Santa Fe Bobcats are coming soon! Yippee!! 

If you love sports romance books this is definitely a book you should read!

Expected publication: January 19th 2016 by InterMix

My Review: 
Novak delivers an exciting and thrilling prequel to a new series that kept me on the edge of my seat. Normally I would skip prequels but this was everything I wasn't expecting and more. 

The characters are as detailed as the scenery and storyline. I had no problem picturing any part of what was going on. In parts even I had chills. One of the things I really enjoyed was the povs. It's always nice to know what other characters are thinking when things are happening. 

20 years ago Dr. Evelyn Talbott found her three best friends dead and she was being held captive by her then boyfriend Jasper. Jasper leaves her for dead but she somehow escapes and is now dedicated to learning how these killers think. Just one problem Jasper is back and not finished with what he started. 

I really liked Evelyn and how strong she was to try and move on from her past. At times I felt for her and all the things she must have gone through. I hope Novak gets in deeper with that in the first book so we get to know more about her. 

In this story we meet Alaskan State Trooper, Sergeant Amarok who I actually loved right away. Even though Evelyn has gone through so much he may or may not become a love interest for her, but I hope he does. 

Novak adds twists and turns that not only keep you interested but keep your heart pounding. I really can't wait to see what the first book will be like and what happens. If it's anything like the prequel I have to say it's a must read. But I highly recommend reading the Hanover House to start this new adventure Novak takes us on. 

Whiteout (book 1) is due out in September 2016 I can't wait!!! 

DUKES PREFER BLONDES Review & Giveaway with Loretta Chase

Enter to Win a
$25.00 eGift Card to Choice Book Seller

The Dressmakers #4
Loretta Chase
Releasing December 29th,2015
Avon Books

Lady Clara, the fan-favorite character from Loretta Chase’s New York Times and USA Today bestselling Dressmakers series, finally gets her own happily ever after!

Convenient marriages are rarely so…exciting. Can society’s most adored heiress and London’s most difficult bachelor fall victim to their own unruly desires?

Biweekly marriage proposals from men who can’t see beyond her (admittedly breathtaking) looks are starting to get on Lady Clara Fairfax’s nerves. Desperate to be something more than ornamental, she escapes to her favorite charity. When a child goes missing, she turns to Oliver Radford—a handsome, brilliant, excessively conceited barrister.

Having unexpectedly found himself in line to inherit a dukedom, Radford needs a bride who can navigate the Society he’s never been part of. If he can find one without having to set foot in a ballroom, so much the better. Clara—blonde, blue-eyed, and he must admit, not entirely bereft of brains—will do. As long as he can woo her, wed her—and not, like every other sapskull in London, lose his head over her…

Amazon | B & N | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo


I tend not to read many historical romances  but once in a while one will catch my eye and this one was the lucky ones. I haven't read a book by Chase before but found this one highly entertaining.

Lady Clara is beautiful and intelligent. She isn't lacking for a suitor but she is looking for more from any man. She wants someone who looks beyond her beauty and the money she has. Oliver might be happy with life but he feels like he is missing something and when Lady Clara comes back into his life things might work out.

These two had somewhat of a history. They met a summer when they were younger but haven't seen each other in years. Clara needs Oliver's help in finding a young boy which causes these two to work closely together. I loved these two together. They are both very intelligent and have mutual respect for one another.

Since this is the first book I have read in this series I didn't feel totally attached to these characters and this world. I think it would have been different if I started this series from the beginning.

I did enjoy the dialogue and the sarcasm Chase included in the characters. I also enjoyed the descriptions and learning about dress making.

Overall I was satisfied with the ending. I do wish these two would have gotten together sooner but I did love how they took their time.

Since I did love the way Chase told this story I am actually looking forward to reading future books of hers.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Loretta Chase has worked in academe, retail, and the visual arts, as well as on the streets-as a meter maid-and in video, as a scriptwriter. She might have developed an excitingly checkered career had her spouse not nagged her into writing fiction. Her bestselling historical romances, set in the Regency and Romantic eras of the early 19th century, have won a number of awards, including the Romance Writers of America’s Rita. For more about her past, her books, and what she does and doesn’t do on social media, please visit her website

Broken Dreams Promo & Giveaway with Lindsay McKenna

Enter to Win a
$10.00 VISA eGift Card

Lindsay McKenna
Releasing Jan 2nd, 2016
Blue Turtle Publishing

Captain Alexa Culver takes one look at shy, quiet Marine sniper Gage Hunter and feels an instant connection. But Gage has demons in his past that keep him from giving it to their mutual attraction. Alexa believes Gage is worth fighting for, and begins to slowly chip away at his defenses.

Gage Hunter has lost everyone he has ever loved. Lonely and broken, the last thing he expects is to meet someone like Alexa Culver. The redheaded beauty  is confident and outgoing and makes Gage feel emotions he thought long buried. But before he risks revealing his heart to her she is kidnapped by the Taliban while on a humanitarian mission. Can Gage reach her before he loses his chance for love forever?


Captain Alexa Culver saw three soldiers ease from the bar, their eyes on her. She was going to say something when Marine Corps Sergeant Gage Hunter put himself right in front of her, standing there like the bristling, quiet alpha he was.

She stood near his right side and behind him. This wasn’t the first time she’d been hit on in a canteen at Bagram Army Base. As an officer, she had the rank, and Alexa was more than prepared to use it, but Gage, as if reading her mind, lifted his hand, opening it toward her.

“Let me handle this?” he asked, giving her a sideward glance.

There was something deadly about his demeanor. Alexa gave a brisk nod and watched him turn away, facing the three enlisted soldiers, who were so drunk they bumped into one another as they approached.

The canteen suddenly quieted, and Alexa felt anger stirring in her. She hated this kind of shit. Always had. And in the past, she’d handled it just fine on her own. But there was something reassuring about Gage as he stood there loosely, his large hands hanging relaxed at his sides, his piercing gaze on the three soldiers.

There would be no fight here today if Alexa had anything to say about it.

“That’s close enough,” Gage said in a quiet but firm voice.

The three soldiers halted. The red-haired one snorted.

“Get the fuck out of the way, dude. We want to talk to the lady.”

“She doesn’t want to talk to you,” Gage said, his voice low, almost friendly. “Why don’t you three go back to the bar and finish off your beers? The lady and I are leaving.”

Alexa silently cheered Gage on for his diplomacy. She liked that he didn’t get threatening, all huff and puff. The confusion in two of the three soldiers’ expressions told her Gage had made contact. The red-haired one, however, wasn’t having it. He was drunk enough, stupid enough, to push harder. And Gage stood about five inches taller than the soldier. Alexa knew that when someone was drunk, details like that failed to register.

“You can leave, dude,” the red-haired soldier said with a broad wave of his hand. “But she stays. She’s ours,” he sneered, glaring up at Gage.

One corner of Gage’s mouth twitched. “What do you say we take this outside and settle it, then, because the lady is with me.”

The gauntlet had been thrown down so quietly that Alexa barely heard the veiled threat in Gage’s tone. She looked at the rest of the men in the canteen. They were all leaning forward, straining to hear him speak. Someone behind the bar shut off the music.


Dead silence.

Alexa gulped, her gaze shooting from Gage’s harsh profile to the soldier, who was barely able to stand, six feet away from him. Before she could step in and say anything, Gage turned, cupped her right elbow, and guided her around where the soldiers stood. His gaze never left the red-haired one until they were past him.

The rest of the men in the canteen stepped aside, allowing them passage to the door. Gage pushed it open, guiding Alexa outside, his hand still firm on her elbow.

Sunlight, bright and blinding, hit Alexa. Gage continued down the wet sidewalk, which had earlier been shoveled clear of snow on both sides. Now, in midafternoon, it was melting on the desert base. The wind was breezy, and Alexa was glad to be near Gage. He was like a mountain preventing the cold air from reaching her.

“I like your style,” she told him, looking up at him as she pulled on her aviator sunglasses.

“He was too damned drunk to know up from down,” Gage said, shaking his head in disgust.

“I saw him latch on to the hog’s tooth you’re wearing.”

“I was hoping he would.”

Once they reached the broad sidewalk that curved along the wet asphalt two-lane street, Gage released her elbow. He didn’t want to, but knew he should. Even though he wore civilian clothes, Alexa was in uniform, and her captain’s bars were clearly visible on the shoulders of her flight suit. He checked his stride for her sake, keeping her on the inside of the street. He kept watching Humvees move slowly up and down it.

“I could have handled that confrontation, Gage.”

“I know you could.” He shot a glance down at her. “And I can just hear you asking why I didn’t let you do it.”

Her lips curved. “You’re good, I’ll give you that.”

A slow grin appeared. “Hey, I promised your brother Matt that I’d take care of you after he left. My word is my bond.”

A good, clean feeling flowed through Alexa. He’d put on a pair of wraparound sunglasses, his baseball cap low on his brow. Gage Hunter was a badass in disguise, and she suddenly grinned.

“Just another thing to like about you.” She saw him cock his head in her direction, knowing his gaze was locked on her even if she couldn’t see it. “You’re a badass,” Alexa said, watching his lips twitch. This man did not give a thing away. Why? What made him close up like that?

“The enemy thinks so.”

“So did those three idiots in the canteen.”

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Lindsay McKenna lives her life as a risk taker, and it shines through the books she loves to write: romance, adventure and suspense. She started writing at age thirteen and continues to hone her writing skills to this day. She sold her first romance novel in 1981. The rest is history.
Because she went into the military, this experience became the backbone of her writing—she is credited with writing the first military romance novel (Captive of Fate, 1983, Silhouette Special Edition) and has created a thriving sub-genre within the romance field! As a New York Times Best Selling author, she has sold 23 million books and in 32 foreign languages in her career thus far. Her many experiences in the U.S. Navy are backdrop for her understanding of the military in general, and also her very successful Morgan’s Mercenaries, which is an ongoing series in Silhouette to this day! Forty-five books strong!
Lindsay has gone Indie in 2015 and has created a new family saga on par with Morgan’s Mercenaries It is known as the DELOS SERIES. There will be paperback and eBooks created under Blue Turtle Publishing, her company for her fans. Readers who love Morgan and his family are bound to fall in love with the Culver family. Delos is romantic suspense, which Lindsay is well known for. It took her five years to create and bring DELOS to her readers. It was worth the wait, but we’ll let you decide that.
Lindsay loves to hear from her readers and loves to know what they’d like to see her write next. Stay up with the latest on the Delos Series here. Please visit her Web site at And be sure to sign up for her free quarterly newsletter. It contains exclusive content found nowhere else on the Net. Plus, giveaways and other surprises, to her loyal and faithful subscribers!

Grab a FREE Ebook copy of 
The Prequel Novella to NOWHERE TO HIDE

Don't miss the rest of the DELOS Series 

Amazon B&N | iTunes | Kobo

Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo


Halfway through her first year on the job, Melissa Montclair decides the best part of teaching is winter break.
And the best part of break is the Perfect Ten she meets in a bar on New Year’s Eve. Why not celebrate a semester under her belt with a Perfect Ten in her pants? The one night affair is all she hoped for, until she walks into school a week later and sees Mr. Ten is Student Twenty-nine on her roll call.
She should be mortified—and she is—but that doesn’t stop her from banging him again. And again.
And again.
So much for job security.
Posing as an exchange student at Hamilton High is finally the assignment Officer Spence Vega has been hoping for. Now he has a shot at getting to the bottom of the town’s recent molly epidemic. There’s only a couple of problems: first, history is taught by the curvy bombshell he banged on New Year’s. Second, his growing suspicion is that she’s the dealer he’s looking for.
The job was supposed to be an easy in-and-out, not the teacher.
If only they could stop getting under the covers, staying undercover would be so much easier.

I place a kiss on her neck and mutter against her smooth, honey-mint skin, "Keep kissing me like this and I can't promise we'll make it back to your place."
She gasps slightly and it's the sexiest thing I’ve ever heard. At this rate, I’d fucking carry her the entire way to her apartment if it meant we didn't have to waste a valuable hour waiting for a cab. And then the little minx starts grinding against me. I can feel her damp warmth through my jeans.
Jesus take the wheel. I might marry this girl.
"Are you asking for a public fucking, Mel? Because it certainly feels like it." I slip my hands under her short dress. A firm ass waits for me. I knew she worked out. I’m such a good judge of character.
Character. Haha.
"God, you really are beautiful," I tell her, and I totally mean that. That’s the key to the charm I learned from my dad—mean what you say. Sincerity is more important than any fancy words. And by fancy words, I mean I mostly only keep thinking of filthy ones to say to her, so.
"I think we're going to have to walk." She leans forward and gently bites my neck. "Because I don't know how much longer I can wait."
Fucking jackpot. "Where do you live?"
"Seven blocks that way." She points in the direction of the Plaza, but I’m paying exactly zero attention to her muttered directions. I’m way too busy enjoying the way her body moves against me in time to the music coming from the bar. "Do you mind walking?"
"Do I mind?" I laugh. More like she read my mind. I pick her up and toss her over my shoulder. (Another note for all my brothers out there—girls love this move. Proves you’re super strong. Helps to play baseball. If you’re any good, hit me up. We’re down a shortstop on my team.)
Her high-heeled feet kick in delight and it's the cutest thing ever. Like puppies and kittens but—you know what, no. Puppies and kittens are a terrible analogy. Anyway, slipping into that particular bar to hide was probably the best thing I could have done all night. "Just tell me where to go."
"The other way! Other way!" Melissa squeals as I spin her in circles. "Yes, this way. Seven blocks. High-ho, Silver!"
She thinks she's hilarious and laughs at her own joke. It makes me laugh, too. Then I realize her ass is probably on display to the whole cab line. As much as I deserve high fives from everyone who sees who I’m leaving with, I’m selfish. That ass is mine for the night, so no one gets to look but me.
I set her down.
I haven’t been back to a girl's place in… well in for-fucking-ever, and the idea excites me. No one can come back to my place, not right now, and I usually avoid going home with strangers, no matter how hot. You just never know, man. Maybe it's the beer, maybe it's the quick getaway that led me to the bar, maybe it's how she kisses like she’s already in bed, but this is so happening.
God, I miss one-night stands.
There is no time for attachment in my life. Not even with this amazing girl who giggles at my jokes and squeals when I pretend to turn down a dark alleyway, just to hear her laugh. There are a lot of alleys in Westport. I get a lot of laughs. She isn’t making like she wants a boyfriend either, which means tonight is perfect.
After all, New Year's Eve is a time for new beginnings. And god knows I could use a fresh start. An evening with Melissa would be the perfect way to kiss 2015 good-bye. And I would make that good-bye scream my name so many times...
"Are you sure we can't just stop here?" I spin her around and kiss her again. Fuck, that mouth of hers. Hey, there’s an idea. "Because you are making me fucking crazy. I can’t look at you with clothes on anymore."
She narrows her eyes. Those bedroom eyes. Fuck. They were bright green, so opposite of my brown, and framed by dark eyelashes. Dark hair, bright eyes, a killer smile. I’m only half-joking. I’d take her right here on the street if it wasn't illegal. That doesn’t always stop me, but it would be a real mood-killer to deal with legal ramifications right about now.
"Naughty boy." She purrs. "If you keep propositioning me like this, I don't know that I can say no. However, I can't go to jail because I'm..."
"A prostitute? A drug dealer?" Again with the half-jokes.
"Sure." She smiles brightly and kisses me with wandering hands. I’m starting to rethink my seconds-ago decision not to bang her in the middle of 42nd St.
"How much further?"
Melissa extends an arm behind her, towards a tall complex not quite a block away. "Number four-oh-five."
"The elevator is close enough." I kiss her again, her sweet taste basically all I’m living for right now, and throw her back over my shoulder. Did I mention chicks love this move?
"Don't let me flash anyone!" She squeals.
"I can’t make any promises," I say. And I can’t, but I guarantee I’m moving too quick for anyone to get a good view. We are so close to her place. I jog across the street and through the small lobby. The elevator is small and rickety, and the bumps and jolts serve two-fold as we continue making out. Her moans drive me insane. All this just from kissing? We’re gonna get a noise complaint for sure once I show her all my moves.
"Okay," she breathes as the elevator opens to her floor. She smooths her hair and digs through her purse for her keys. "I was not planning on bringing anyone back, so you are not allowed to judge me by my lack of cleanliness." Girls, man. I’ve never seen a “messy” girl’s room that could hold a candle to Zach’s.
"I haven't seen my floor in weeks," I reassure her as she pulls me back towards to the door. She unlocks it somehow, and we all but fall in, locked again in heated kisses.
We kiss from the door to the bedroom, bumping into furniture and walls, giggling and shedding our clothing. By the time we reach her bed (perfectly made, by the way) I’m in nothing but my boxer-briefs and she's in a lacy pair of boy shorts.
God, I love boy shorts.
"It's like you were made just for me." I didn’t necessarily mean for her to hear that. It’s true, though, as I’m prowling around her, she’s literally everything I’ve ever jacked o—dreamed of, I mean. Yeah, that.
Before we disappear between her sheets, I want to imprint into my memory every fucking perfect inch. Every dip, every curve, every smooth line. I’m going to taste every inch, but my eyes are hungry, too. Sex is like eating a gourmet meal, as much to be done with your eyes as with your stomach, or, in this case, my cock.
"Like what you see?" She asks. Oh, do I. It’s better than Lidia’s pasta trio, and nothing is better than Lidia’s pasta trio.
"You have no idea," I let my voice drop to a low rumble. "No fucking idea." Mostly because I’m not sure how to explain that I just mentally compared her to very sexy noodles.
"Show me."
Now that I can do.

About Kayti McGee:

Kayti McGee is a former Kansas Citian who now follows the Royals from Colorado. Besides writing, her hobbies include travel, cooking, and all thing Whovian. She also writes as the latter half of Laurelin McGee. Like her co-author Laurelin Paige, she joined Mensa for no other reason than to make her bio more interesting.