Saturday, December 1, 2012

Guest Post with Maya Rodale

Dear Annabelle,

My dear sister has fled into the night rather than marry a rake like the Duke of Temberlay. There’s a reason why he’s known as Devil—several in fact! Without this marriage, my family faces poverty, and I will be forced to seek employment to support my mother and two small sisters. I am considering a desperate course of action, Annabelle—taking my sister’s place at the altar. By the time Temberlay discovers I’m an imposter, things will, ahem, have gone too far for an annulment. I’m willing—just to save my family of course, not because he’s the handsomest man alive, and a duke, and a war hero with a fortune.

Do I dare to marry him, Annabelle?  Waiting breathlessly for your advice!

Lady Marguerite Lynton from How To Deceive A Duke by Lecia Cornwall


Dear Lady Marguerite,

I am also breathlessly awaiting my advice for that is quite the quandary you are in! If you must seek employment, do join me, Lady Brandon, Lady Roxbury and Lady Wycliff and become one of The London Weekly’s infamous Writing Girls. However, we hardly compare to a devilish duke, who is a wealthy war hero to boot!

The part of me that reads romantic novels says Yes! Marry him in secret! But my practical side encourages you to make your feelings plain and propose to him (that alone is scandalous!). In seeking a compromise, I spoke to my friend, Lady Charlotte Brandon, who is a notorious schemer (famously of Three Schemes and a Scandal) but her suggestion included highway robbery, assorted disguises and all sorts of scandalous behavior taking place in the dead of the night.

Above all, I encourage you to live daringly and courageously, for I have recently discovered that the whole world opens up if you do.

Yours,
Annabelle from Seducing Mr. Knightly
Reprinted with permission from The London Weekly


Question: If you were in Lady Marguerite’s situation, would you marry the duke? 

Monday, August 6, 2012

Early Review: Eternal Beast by Laura Wright

Ever since his abduction by the Eternal Order of Vampires, Gray Donohue has finally found his true calling: vengeance. He will stop at nothing to bring his fellow Impure vampires the freedom they deserve. Now if he could just release his primal need for the beautiful vampire who saved his life—and rules his thoughts and desires…

After nearly killing the senator she was assigned to protect, Dillon is now in mortal danger. The jaguar within her has been unleashed, and she can no longer control it. Sex is the only thing that can tame her shift. And Gray is the only man who can make her surrender to a passion strong enough to overpower her inner beast. But she doesn’t want to surrender—she wants her life back. Because she is determined never to belong to anyone, especially not Gray—the male whom destiny claims is her mate…


Review:

Eternal Beast is the 4th book in Mark of the Vampire series, and I swear, each book just gets better and better! I have been anxiously awaiting Gray’s book since book 1. I’ve just been drawn to him from being the mysterious brother of Sarah who went through such a tragic event that locked him in his mind and nonspeaking, to his mind being unlocked and discovering and having to deal with being an Impure Vampire to finding out secrets about his own family that has led him to the point where we start off in Eternal Beast.
Grayson Donahue is the leader of the Impure Resistance, as his father was before him. He has been working with a small group of Impure Vampires to rescue other Impures from the authority of The Order. He is very strong minded and focused on his cause and won’t let anything deter him from his mission, even Dillon.
Dillon and Gray always seem to have intense interactions and that doesn’t fade in this book. Dillon has had a traumatic past and she has learned to shut off her feelings and prefers to be closed off and pushes others away. When she finds herself stuck in her mutore form as a jaguar and it seems the only thing to help her make the shift back to vampire is Gray’s touch, she seeks his help but Gray is determined to not be used by her anymore and is determined to try and discover what this attraction is between them. They butt heads a lot and one importantly is Gray’s mission. I loved the struggles these two had to work through and how Gray wouldn’t give up on Dillon no matter how much she tries to run away or push him away.
I loved that we get to see plenty of the other characters that we love and are still involved with them even when some parts of the story isn’t tied directly to Gray or Dillon, it all ties in together very nicely and helps give the story a rounded look at everything going on.  We discover a few interesting twists and look forward to those playing out more in future books.
If you are new to this series I would HIGHLY recommend starting from the beginning. Each book builds on to the last and I think that you would miss out on some crucial events and story lines to full appreciate this book… well and can’t forget to mention getting to know these hot, sexy, loveable vampires through each book ;) The Epilogue left off with a great introduction to the next book Eternal Demon, can’t wait to read about Erion!!!

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Review: Almost a Scandal by Elizabeth Essex

For generations, the Kents have served proudly with the British Royal Navy. So when her younger brother refuses to report for duty, Sally Kent slips into a uniform and takes his place—at least until he comes to his senses. Boldly climbing aboard the Audacious, Sally is as able-bodied as any sailor there. But one man is making her feel tantalizingly aware of the full-bodied woman beneath her navy blues…

Dedicated to his ship, sworn to his duty—and distractingly gorgeous—Lieutenant David Colyear sees through Sally’s charade, and he’s furious. But he must admit she’s the best midshipman on board—and a woman who tempts him like no other. With his own secrets to hide and his career at stake, Col agrees to keep her on. But can the passion they hide survive the perils of a battle at sea? Soon, their love and devotion will be put to the test…


Review:

Sally Kent is the only daughter, with several brothers, who has grown up in a family where going off to have a career in the Navy is important. When her younger brother refuses to take his duty and actually runs away, she decides to take his place to save the honor of her family, and her desires to have the choice of being able to work on ship, which she very much excels at.  I really liked Sally’s independent nature and I loved seeing her thrive while on ship and being able to prove herself as capable. She doesn’t hesitate and I loved her willingness to help out her fellow midshipman.
David Colyear is the 1st Lieutenant aboard the ship Audacious, Col also happens to be friends with Sally’s older brothers and they met 6 years earlier. Col had fond memories of Sally and it doesn’t take him long to figure out that Sally has in on ship in place of Richard. Col is attracted to Sally and to keep his mind on his job and to help keep Sally’s secret, he attempts to keep his distance, but it just doesn’t work.

I enjoyed this book well enough but I wish there was more of the romance part in it. Obviously while in ship, Col and Sally weren’t able to have the opportunity to do anything in order to keep Sally’s secret. I enjoyed the innocence of their feelings for each other but that also showed in their love making scenes that kind of fell short for me. The rest of the story kept my interest but it was towards the end where it really hooked me and without giving anything away, I could really feel and connect with Sally’s feelings, which is what pulled me into this part of the story the most.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

ARC Review: Moonglow by Kristen Callihan

Once the seeds of desire are sown . . .

Finally free of her suffocating marriage, widow Daisy Ellis Craigmore is ready to embrace the pleasures of life that have long been denied her. Yet her new-found freedom is short lived. A string of unexplained murders has brought danger to Daisy's door, forcing her to turn to the most unlikely of saviors . . .

Their growing passion knows no bounds . . .

Ian Ranulf, the Marquis of Northrup, has spent lifetimes hiding his primal nature from London society. But now a vicious killer threatens to expose his secrets. Ian must step out of the shadows and protect the beautiful, fearless Daisy, who awakens in him desires he thought long dead. As their quest to unmask the villain draws them closer together, Daisy has no choice but to reveal her own startling secret, and Ian must face the undeniable truth: Losing his heart to Daisy may be the only way to save his soul.


Review:

Moonglow is the second book in Kristen Callihan’s Darkest London series and I liked this story even more then the first.
Daisy Ellis Craigmore is sister to Miranda Archer (heroine in Firelight, bk 1). She is newly widowed and could not be more trilled to go out and take advantage of this new freedom from and old, abusive husband. When at a party she finds herself attacked, but thankfully survives, by a werewolf, she is rescued by Ian Ranualf. Daisy tries to put on a good front, but she struggles with insecurities that she tries to hide with crudeness and humor.
Ian Ranulf is a lycan, who has voluntarily exiled himself from his clan instead of becoming their leader after his father, which his younger brother decided to take in Ian’s place. We learn throughout the book the events that led up to this decision, but overall he just wants a normal life. Ian’s life has been very lonely and he’s getting to the point where he is running out of ways to distract himself from this. When he comes across Daisy’s attack, he is drawn to her and takes her to his home to care for her. Things are complicated for Ian and Daisy from the beginning as they figure out the tie they have to each other, namely Ian trying to get between Miranda and her now husband Archer (whom Ian used to be best friends with back in the day).
Many times throughout the book I couldn’t help but compare my feelings to Firelight since I read it right before Moonglow. Some of the things that really stuck out to me that led me to enjoy Moonglow more is the way that Ian and Daisy’s relationship developed. I liked the speed of it, the context of what they had to go through that brought them together, and how they work together as partners to figure out the mystery of the werewolf. I absolutely loved Ian, his teasing, his protectiveness, and the way that he loves whole-heartedly. I loved Daisy because she is strong, independent, and passionate about something when she gets her mind set on it. My heart broke for these two characters each time something was revealed about their pasts and I loved the way that they didn’t run from the other’s past but that it helps bring them closer together.
I enjoyed getting to see more of the paranormal side to this world and get introduced to new entities. Moonglow included a great side story to Weston and Poppy (Daisy and Miranda’s eldest sister) and introducing what we have to look forward to unraveling in their story, Winterblaze, I can’t wait!

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Review: After the Crux (Crux Survivors #1) by Dani Worth

In a lonely, plague-devastated world, it is definitely not every man for himself.

Seventeen years after the Crux Virus wiped out most of the world’s population, Ross is doing what he can to keep his small community safe from raiders in a self-contained artist retreat in the Jemez Mountains of New Mexico. He’s made a habit of collecting survivors and they’ve all become family, but the most important members have always been Jenna and Dorian.

At fourteen, Ross stumbled into the basement where the nine-year-olds were hiding and the three have been together ever since. Years later, Jenna and Dorian became lovers. Now, at thirty, Ross hopes to find a love of his own on supply runs, but he suffers incredible guilt because his heart has long been snagged by his two best friends.

Alone with his tangled emotions, Ross is about to discover that his friends have their own ideas about their relationship…and how it is about to change.


Review:

After the Crux is the 1st book in a new series that is set 17 years after a fatal disease wiped through the population leaving survivors to fend for themselves in this desolate world. Cities and civilizations are dissertated and the surviving individuals form families and they must raid forgotten towns to find food and other previsions that they need to keep on surviving.
This story primarily revolves Ross, who is pretty much the leader of his “family”. His family first began when he was 14 years old and he stumbled upon two 9 year old friends Jenna and Dorian and since then they have added to their family with individuals that Ross meets on raids. As the years have gone on, Jenna and Dorian have established a sexual relationship together, one that Ross covets as he is secretly in love with Jenna. Before he leaves to go on one of his raids he witnesses Jenna and Dorian in a compromising position and finds that he has confusing feelings for Dorian as well.

I could just feel the loneliness from Ross being on the outside of Jenna and Dorian’s relationship, yearning to have what they have. Each time he goes out, he hopes to find someone for himself. While on a particular raid Ross is severally injured that nudges the 3 of them to accept and come to terms with the love that they feel for each other. The love between the three really develops fast as the book goes, but we are given the info of how the relationships developed through the years that led them to the point that the book starts at. I couldn’t help but feel all squishy inside with how sweet the love is between Ross, Jenna, and Dorian.
I really enjoyed the side characters and loved how open they are and you love who you love. In this world, you can’t turn away from a chance to love and be loved. The bad guys that they encounter are real nasty and it gives the other characters an opportunity to shine, show how they can work together and help defend each other. My only complaint, and this really has nothing to do with the story, is that the story ended when my kindle read 87%. I just wasn’t prepared for it to end yet! But once I got over that shock, I was satisfied with the actual ending and thought it left off at a good point that will bring us to the next book.

Monday, July 16, 2012

Review: Conquered by a Highlander by Paula Quinn

BOUND BY DUTY

Colin MacGregor was born to fight-for his beliefs, his king, and his family's honor. After years away from his beloved Scotland, he yearns to return to its lush, green hills-and he can, after he completes one final mission for the king. Sent to infiltrate a traitor's home, Colin is determined to expose the treasonous plot and triumph on the battlefield . . . until he meets a sensual lass who tempts him towards other pursuits . . . .

BETRAYED BY PASSION

Lady Gillian Dearly is no stranger to temptation. Cast out of her family for bearing an illegitimate child, she's now the ward of a barbarian conspiring against the king. Her only desire: freedom for her son and for herself at any cost, even if it means making a deal with the devil. Yet when a mysterious Highlander appears in their midst, his braw strength and smoldering gaze give her hope for a future beyond the castle walls-and promise a desire unlike any she's ever known. But passion comes at a price . . .


Review:

I am completely in love with Paula Quinn’s MacGregor clan! While the 1st three books in the Children of the Mist series are all happening around the same time, this book takes place 3 years in the future, which allows Colin to become more experienced and grow from his 19 years in the first few books.
Colin is the youngest son of the infamous Devil MacGregor and has prided himself to become as strong of a warrior as his father and has devoted himself to the war that is brewing to rid England of a Catholic king. He has strongly believed in his cause, until recently when he’s not so sure that he believes in King James’ motivations anymore. After a brief visit home where he sees each of his siblings married and with kids, he’s off to one last task where he will disguise who his is and infiltrate his one of his enemy’s stronghold to seek out information before his army comes to destroy them. This is where he meets Gillian, cast out of her father’s home for becoming pregnant out of wedlock and forced into the custody of her disgusting cousin, who wants her so much but does everything he can to break her to his will.
Colin has never been a man to be swayed by a woman or anything to veer him off his path once it’s set, and his only focus has been battle and protecting his kin. He is a very smart and cunning warrior and General in the king’s army but something about Gillian and 3 year old Edmund draws him in. Gillian is one tough girl and I loved how devoted to her son she was and the lengths she was willing to go to in order protect him.  Now Colin isn’t necessarily my favorite MacGregor off spring (I mean come on, he has some sexy older brothers, it’s not his fault) but he has definitely had me pondering him from the beginning with how closed off his was and how strict his focus is. I liked how we get to see a new side to Colin, one he didn’t even know he possessed, as he slowly falls for Edmund and then Gillian. It warms my heart whenever these big strong men show so much affection for children in stories, must be the mother in me.
As I said I am in love with the MacGregor clan and I am kicking myself for waiting so long to discover these books. I would recommend these books to anyone who likes Historical Romances; I mean seriously, you cannot go wrong with some crazy hot warrior Scotsmen ;) I will be eagerly looking forward to reading anything else that Paula Quinn writes in the future!

Monday, July 9, 2012

Review: One Naughty Night by Laurel McKee

A hundred years has passed since the bitter rivalry between the St. Claires and the Huntingtons began. But in London, the feud goes on...

Under the cover of night, nothing is forbidden.

Lily St. Claire will do anything for the family that saved her from the streets. With their support, the young widow has become the hostess of The Devil's Fancy, London's most exclusive gaming den. She's determined to restore the St. Claire family fortune, lost a century before to the despised Huntington clan. But a ghost from her past may be her ultimate undoing.

Lord Aidan Huntington is handsome and wealthy, with a taste for adventure and a reputation for wickedness. A gambler and a rake, Aidan can't resist a seductive woman with secrets—but one naughty night with Lily leaves him wanting more. As Lily is drawn into London's dark underworld by an old enemy, Aidan will risk everything to save the woman who has awakened his deepest desires.


Review:

This is the 1st book in her series The Scandalous St. Claires and it reveals many interesting characters. This first book along with telling Lily and Aidan’s story, but it sets up for future stories around the other family members that I find that I’m pretty eager to find out their stores as well ;)
Lily St. Claire was born and grew up on the wrong side of the streets until one day she came across the St. Claires and they decided to adopt her. There is much love in her family, but she feels herself separate from them, even though they never treat her that way. Her St. Claire family is very big in the theater and even though she tried once and failed to be an actress, she found a way to help her family out by doing the books for various businesses, as she has found she is very good at numbers.

Aidan Huntington is the second son of a duke, who feels like he doesn’t really belong in a ducal home. He has traveled, and has made many friends in all walks of life. He has a passion for theater and wants to write plays, but he keeps his true self secret from his family because he knows they wouldn’t approve. Aidan is very protective and loyal and when he wants something, he doesn’t stop till he gets it.
Lily and Aidan met as strangers in the dark of night after Lily’s failed attempt as Juliet and found a comfort with each and share a passionate kiss until Lily runs off. Three years later they have once again stumbled onto each other and they are just drawn to each other, and the more and more they are together the more the need is. Until Lily’s past collides with her present, she is determined to keep her past a secret and to deal with a specific person from her past on her own.
I only have a couple things that stuck out to me that bugged me in the story. I found the side story of Aidan’s friend Freddy, who had tried to pursue Lily, kind of pointless. I mean it gave a brief conflict between Lily and Aidan, other than that, could have done without it. Lily and Aidan are very intense and they can’t keep their hands off each other! While their sex scenes were pretty hot at times it felt somewhat repetitive, such as Aidan proclaiming how much Lily drives him crazy and how Lily goes from self doubting herself to being a seductive minx with a few touches.
The overall story I really liked and I found myself hooked as Lily’s past was revealed and how Aidan proved himself to more than just a carefree rake. I enjoyed Lily’s slow course to opening up to Aidan and even when she thought he would be disgusted by her past, she tells him anyway, and I love Aidan’s fierceness to be her protector. Despite that the St. Claires are determined to loathe the Huntingtons from an incident that happened 100 years in the past, Lily can’t stay away from Aidan.

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Review: Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep

I’ve seen so many freaky things since I started attending Mythos Academy last fall. I know I’m supposed to be a fearless warrior, but most of the time, I feel like I’m just waiting for the next Bad, Bad Thing to happen. Like someone trying to kill me—again.

Everyone at Mythos Academy knows me as Gwen Frost, the Gypsy girl who uses her psychometry magic to find lost objects—and who just may be dating Logan Quinn, the hottest guy in school. But I’m also the girl the Reapers of Chaos want dead in the worst way. The Reapers are the baddest of the bad, the people who murdered my mom. So why do they have it in for me?

It turns out my mom hid a powerful artifact called the Helheim Dagger before she died. Now, the Reapers will do anything to get it back. They think I know where the dagger is hidden, but this is one thing I can’t use my magic to find. All I do know is that the Reapers are coming for me—and I’m in for the fight of my life.



Review:

I am already a huge Jennifer Estep fan as I LOVE her Elemental Series, so I thought I’d give her YA series, Mythos Academy a shot as well and I was not disappointed! I really enjoy the mythology aspect to this series.
Dark Frost picks up when the students are just coming back to school after winter break and most of the students are doing last minute work for an assignment at the Crius Coliseum when all of a sudden there is an attack by Reapers searching for a specific dagger told to be able to open up a door to release Loki.  This event starts a chain reaction with all sorts of craziness, including Gwen’s best friend acting weird, things between her and Logan being unclear that has left her pretty much alone, such as she was when she first arrived at Mythos Academy. It is Gwen’s job to protect the dagger as Nike’s champion. She must find out where her mother has it hidden and re-hide it before the Reapers and Loki’s champion gets their hands on it.
I really enjoyed Dark Frost from the beginning as it jumps right into the action. Gwen is starting to find and understand herself more and the strength she is capable of and the growth that she has had to do throughout the series. I enjoyed getting to know some of the other characters, and the lengths they will go through to help her. The relationship between Gwen and Logan kind of pisses me off, often, but I thought they made some progress in this book.
Everything really hits the fan and Gwen is put through A LOT. I will admit that her reaction to the ending events worried me a little, but considering the shock of what happened, it shows that Gwen is human and that she is greatly affected by the life and world she has been introduced to. I have very much enjoyed this series and can honestly say it has climbed the list of one of my more favorite YA series and I can’t wait for the next book, Crimson Frost.



Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Review: Replicant by Dani Worth

"When a bounty hunter returns to her destroyed planet on the hunt for an escaped alien, the last thing she expects to find is love. "

Jarana Gothbrun is the number one Tracker in the galaxies, famous for tagging Replicants-shape-shifting aliens who can take on humanoid forms once they have someone's DNA. She has two more Replicants to catch in her current job, ones who escaped from a high-security prison planet. Unfortunately, one of them is currently on her home planet, Kithra. She hasn't been back since a Replicant kidnapped her and took her off planet prior to its destruction.

Maska is engaged to Erik, who has no idea the love of his life is an escaped prisoner. Or male. When Jarana uses an untested device to force Maska's shift to his native form, it puts him in danger and pisses off everyone on the planet. Her plan to fly in and out with her prisoner is put on hold as she has to deal with the people who've come to love Maska. Not to mention her own grief at the destruction of Kithra...and everyone she loved.
Review:

Replicant is the second book in the Kithran Regenesis series. 
Jarana was born on the planet of Kithra but was captured by a slave ship run by Replicants and while held captive, there was an explosion on her planet that killed her whole family. Seven years later, she is a hardened woman and is working as a Tracker to hunt down escaped prisoners, mainly Replicants. When one of her jobs sends her back to Kithra, she runs into some people from her past, Lux and Egan from the first book Kithra. Jarana ends up hitching a ride to Kithra with Lux and her crew where she encounters Erik whom she feels a powerful pull to and tries to come on to, but he refuses her because he’s in a committed relationship.
Upon arriving to Kithra, Jarana encounters Maska, Erik’s fiancĂ©, and can tell right away that she is not who she appears to be and reveals her to be a Replicant (male), as they can change shape. This causes a lot of conflict between Jarana and the others she’s currently living with on the plant, not to mention a lot of confusion for Erik. As Jarana spends more time on Kithra, she becomes more vulnerable and less numb of feelings as memories of her lost family resurface. As she’s drawn to Erik, she also finds herself drawn to Maska, and as she feels as she’s the one who messed up their relationship she tries to help them put it back together.
I enjoyed this story and the struggles that Jarana, Maska, and Erik have to overcome in order to find happiness and security in their relationships. Jarana has the most to overcome, and she’s able to learn from her past and work to make things right, at least what’s in her power to do. I enjoyed getting to see the characters from the previous book in this story and how they had a significant part in it instead of just seeing glimpses of them. It had been a while since I had read Kithra that it took me a little bit to remember what was going on in this world, but then it all came flooding back after I got a good start in Replicant. I recommend this series to those who enjoy Sci-Fi, an emotional story, happy endings, and steamy scenes ;)

Monday, July 2, 2012

Review: Chasing Magic by Stacia Kane

Magic-wielding Churchwitch and secret addict Chess Putnam knows better than anyone just how high a price people are willing to pay for a chemical rush. But when someone with money to burn and a penchant for black magic starts tampering with Downside’s drug supply, Chess realizes that the unlucky customers are paying with their souls—and taking the innocent with them, as the magic-infused speed compels them to kill in the most gruesome ways possible.

As if the streets weren’t scary enough, the looming war between the two men in her life explodes, taking even more casualties and putting Chess squarely in the middle. Downside could become a literal ghost town if Chess doesn’t find a way to stop both the war and the dark wave of death-magic, and the only way to do that is to use both her addiction and her power to enter the spell and chase the magic all the way back to its malevolent source. Too bad that doing so will probably kill Chess—if the war doesn’t first destroy the man who’s become her reason for living.


Review:

Chasing Magic is the 5th book in the Downside Ghosts series. This is a series that has been on my tbr list for a while and when the chance came to review Chasing Magic I took the opportunity to get caught up on the whole series. Right away I was hooked and couldn’t put the books down. Chess is pretty kick ass with some major issues she really needs to work through, but struggles with masking them with drugs. Terrible is a drug lord enforcer and I like how he’s a man of few words. I really found myself consumed with the relationship between Chess and Terrible.
In this installment, things have changed in the dynamic of the gangs in Downside as Lex has recently become in charge of his side. With this, it puts Lex and Terrible at odds even more than before and Lex gives the “join me or I’m going to take you out” talk with Terrible. Not only does Chess have to deal with Lex trying to cause trouble with Terrible, dealing with and trying to fix the effects of what she did to save Terrible’s life when he was shot in a previous book, and now there’s some strange drug going around Downside turning people into zombies.
Now even though I’ve really liked each of these books, I think reading all 5 books in a row kind of burnt me out. I started to feel the very basic plot were the same and I got tired of Chess’s self-defeating thoughts/actions. I was hoping for her to grow and kind of move away from her excessive drug use.
Ok, now that those things that bugged me are out of the way, here are the things I liked about Chasing Magic. I liked how in this book Chess was able to focus on basically one task. Where in the previous books she has a job from the Church to investigate and on top of all that she has some mystery in Downside she gets roped into, this time there is no Church job and I felt it was easier for me to follow along without soo much going on. I really like Elder Griffin and was glad to see more of him even if it comes with conflict. And of course who can forget about Terrible *swoon* I love how no matter what stupid choices Chess makes, he’s right there sticking by her. I have hopes for Chess to grow in future books and to start using her brain in her personal relationships not just when dealing with magic.   


Tuesday, June 26, 2012

ARC Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson

 "She’s 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan… Who’s going to rescue Sadie Hollowell now? Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town asap , and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding. Better a stranger than some of the losers she’s dated. Vince Haven got his muscles the hard way—as a Navy SEAL in Afghanistan. He’s staying in Lovett to visit his crazy aunt—the proprietor of the local Gas N Go. Before he can get the heck back out of the small town, his aunt makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Maybe he’ll stick around Lovett for a while. Maybe he’ll make a ‘go’ of the Gas N Go. Maybe he’ll rescue Sadie out of that pink dress!"


 
I love Rachel Gibson's stories, but this one started out slow moving. I found myself struggling with the first half of the book and normally that doesn't happen with her books so I was a little disappointed in this.

Sadie meets Vince when she she is driving and sees his broken down car and offers him a ride. This happened to be one of the funniest scenes in the entire book. Sadie doesn't want to go to her cousins wedding alone so she decides to ask Vince since she helped with a ride if he could help her and be her date. Vince says no but ends up showing up anyway. Finally the chemistry starts flying.

Sadie's father has an accident and has to go to the hospital. Sadie is forced to hang around and take care of things at the family ranch and it just so happens she hooks back up with Vince. As a  reader we begin to get little pieces of both of there lives. As Vince starts to change and get closer to Sadie, I started to take to him a tad more than I did at the beginning. This becomes the best part of the story and I loved it.

Normally I like when books wrap up the whole story, but with this book it felt more like a cliff hanger. I mean are we getting more of them or is Ms. Gibson going for another story in the next book. As you can see I am a tad confused by this.  

Now I am not saying that I will discontinue reading Rachel Gibson books because I wont. I just need more from her next story and hopefully she will deliver.

Monday, June 25, 2012

ARC Review: Willow Springs by Toni Blake

"Amy Bright might be the best matchmaker in Destiny, Ohio, but she's desperately shy when it comes to her own love life—and helpless when it comes to Logan Whitaker, the best friend whom she's head-over-heels in love with. So Amy decides to become Logan's secret admirer, sending him sensual love letters steamy enough to unseal their own envelopes. One letter leads to another, one thing leads to another, and then comes an unplanned kiss…

Overcoming a tragedy from his life as a firefighter, Logan needs a friend. Thank goodness for Amy. But when a woman from Logan's past resurfaces right as some anonymous letters send Logan's pulse hammering, suddenly he doesn't know what he needs—a reliable friend, or a passionate lover? One smoking-hot kiss could change everything…but will it ruin a one-of-a-kind friendship, or show Logan and Amy that they've already found everything they need, right here in Destiny?"


When I got a chance to review Willow Springs I was just overly excited. This is only the second book in the series that I read but I am in love with this town.

Amy and Logan have been friends forever, after a tragedy happens to Logan things start to happen between the two of them  and neither one thought this would happen. Now this happens to be the only thing Amy can think about. These are new emotions she is learning how to deal with. Can Amy and Logan get past the friendship they have had to start something brand new? Or will a friendship be lost all together?

In this book Blake brings in so many emotions, which I loved!!! While reading there were times I was frustrated with what was happening, but then she had the parts where I was falling in love right beside Amy. This story had me so emotionally invested that I couldn't or wouldn't put it down until I read every last chapter. It was a addiction that I am I proud of. 

I did feel like I was right beside Amy while she is going through her ups and downs of the emotions she is feeling. I am a big believer in if you read a book that can make you feel every emotion you have a winning book on your hands. So way to go Ms. Blake.

I had times were I was heartbroken for Amy and pissed beyond belief at Logan and the things he did. Granted I know he didn't mean to do them but the fact is this book takes you on a emotional roller coaster that you wont want to get off. It was well written and you fall in love with each and every character in there own way.

Now that I am invested in this series I am going back to the beginning to start the journey from the very first page. I cant wait to see what I have been missing and I can't wait to see what else Ms. Blake will have for us in the future of Destiny. 

Twitter Giveawayof Once Burned!!!!!

Today I have decided to do a giveaway on twitter of


This contest will run from 8 am - 5pm eastern time. I will pick one winner who @ me on twitter. If you don't know my twitter name it is @lush26


Good Luck!!!!

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Review: Lucky in Love By Jill Shalvis

"Mallory Quinn has had enough of playing it safe. As a nurse and devoted daughter, she takes care of everyone but herself. And as the local good girl, she's expected to date Mr. Right. But for once, she'd like to take a risk on Mr. Wrong. And who could be more wrong than Ty Garrison? The mysterious new guy in town has made it clear that he's only passing through, which suits Mallory just fine. Besides, his lean, hard body and sexy smile will give her plenty to remember once he's gone...

For the first time in his life, Ty can't bear to leave. Helping this sexy seductress-in-training walk on the wild side is making him desire things he shouldn't -- including leaving the military for good. As their just-for-fun fling becomes something more, Mallory and Ty wonder if they could really be this lucky in love. After all...anything can happen in a town called Lucky Harbor"
I really enjoyed the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis. Now Jill is moving on to three girlfriends who are helping each other find what is missing in their lives...which would be romance of course. 

Lucky in Love is the forth book in the series and this book is all Mallory. Mallory is an ER nurse at the hospital where her mother also works. She is the rock for her entire family. When a snow storm hits Lucky Harbor she is the diner with Amy and Grace when she comes across the Mysterious Cute Guy. It just so happens that gets a concussion from a fallen tree during this storm. Enter Mallory to the rescue who helps him when he really needs it. He has agreed to be Mallory's date to the be her date for a benefit dinner, but Mallory has a feeling that he isn't going to remember saying yes.


Ty Garrison is no longer a Navy SEAL medic. After losing his team in an accident overseas, Ty still hasn't got over it. Now he does missions for a private contractor. He happens to spend his time working on classic cars and staying away from the people in Lucky Harbor.  Even though he can barley remember what happened to him the night in the snow storm, he just can’t seem to forget Mallory’s warm eyes and the way she cared for him. 

 I was really excited when Jill announced she was writing three more books in the series. Although I did enjoy this book, it didn't keep me hooked like the first previous books. I think it had to deal with being introduced to a whole new set of characters. I was intrigued by Ty and his story more than I was as them as a couple at first, but then it all started to come together for me. I enjoyed the journey Ty and Mallory went through to realize how perfect they were for one another.

 Jill tends to write some sexy scenes and this book has more than it's share. I also enjoyed the side characters that we were introduced to. Lucille was still her up to her funny antics as usual but I still couldn't get enough of her and her meddling.

The next book At Last, will be about Amy and Matt. Since they tend to stay away from each other  I am more than curious to find out what will happen between the two of them.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Guest Post & Feature by Beth Kery/Bethany Kane

First Kiss: by Beth Kery/Bethany Kane

Have you ever seen a corticol homunculus? And how in that world does that weird question relate to my article about kissing?

A corticol homunculus is a visual representation of what areas of our body are the most packed with nerves and take up the largest areas of the cortex. And um….I think it’ll be pretty obvious that the lips, mouth and tongue have gotten a lot more wiring for sensitivity than even—yep, it’s all right there—the genitals. (Yes, the female homunculus would look really similar to this male one).

Pucker up, little guy.


So just on a technical basis, a kiss has got to be one of the most important acts of lovemaking. Two mouths sliding together, rubbing, shaping, stimulating each other…what other area of the body can feel pressure and heat and absorb taste all at once? You better reconsider that mouth of yours. It’s a veritable sensual feast and explorer all at once.

Just because a kiss is often one of the first acts of intimacy doesn’t diminish its importance. With all those zinging nerves buzzing the brain, the first kiss is going to be the first real indicator of whether or not a couple is sexually compatible. We all know what it means to be turned on or off by another human being’s taste, to become overwhelmed by a kiss. Why should we trust our kiss-instincts?

Because as you can see from the homunculus, the mouth is one of the wisest, most acute erogenous zones on the body. The mouth knows what it likes.

(And by the way, the homunculus suddenly makes foot fetishes just a little more comprehensible, no?)

Here’s a first kiss excerpt from Bound to You to illustrate my point. Who better to have mastered the art of kissing besides a blind man whose sense of touch and taste are exquisitely refined? This excerpt highlights why John is so capable of turning Jennifer’s worst fear—the darkness—into a sensual world she’s never glimpsed until that moment.


First Kiss Excerpt: Bound to You, a One Night of Passion novella by Bethany Kane

“Just close your eyes, then,” he murmured, his warm breath brushing across her left temple. “There’s a whole world in the darkness, and it can be a wonderful place. Do you want me to show you?”

“Yes,” she whispered, the kisses he rained on her temple and along her hairline capturing her entire attention. He placed his warm mouth over her ear, the resulting suction from his kiss causing a shudder of pleasure to go through her. She touched his waist and looped her arms around him. “Show me, John. Please.”

He opened his hand at her lower back and brought her flush against him. With his other hand, he cradled her jaw and lifted it.

His mouth covering her own made the fearful shadows lurking in her awareness scatter like a horde of shooed flies.

She moaned into his mouth. Something inside her recognized the taste of sex and power and virility. She kissed him back without thought, abandoning herself to instinct and lust, for there was forgetfulness there…

And safety.

He didn’t only kiss her forcefully, but also with finesse and subtlety, shaping her mouth to his, using some of the most sensitive erogenous zones in the body to caress and coax and fuse. Her clit pinched in arousal. This wasn’t just a kiss; it was sex, pure and simple. Bodies pressing, rubbing, yearning; tastes mingling, lips molding, tongues dueling; Jennifer losing the battle for control…and winning gloriously. She would have ravished him herself if he wasn’t so clearly the ravisher. As it was, she became dizzy beneath his dominance of her senses.

He broke their kiss and leaned down over her, pressing the side of his face next to her head so that she heard his slightly escalated breath in her ear.

“Where the hell did you learn to kiss like that?” he rasped.

“Where’d you?” she whispered as her hands moved over his chest, undoing buttons, seeking out skin.

Bound to You, available now in ebook for 2.99, at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Sony, Apple, and other distributors.

Thank Beth for coming by :)



Review: Shades of Desire by Virna De Paul

Natalie Jones is the lucky survivor of an elusive killer who preys on young women and then disappears from view. And since her harrowing ordeal, the once gutsy photojournalist has remained isolated in her home, paralyzed by fear and her failing vision.

Special Agent Liam "Mac" McKenzie has scars of his own. But despite his efforts to ignore the attraction that simmers between him and Natalie, he needs her help to catch a predator. Soon, they will forge a tentative alliance-charged with desire. Through a soft-focus lens, Natalie dares to envision a future with Mac beyond the investigation...never guessing that the clues hidden within her photographs are drawing them into an explosive confrontation with a madman.



Review

Well, I can say that reading the description of Shades of Desire, I was not prepared for the story that I got. While I enjoyed the suspense part of the story and the overall plot, I did not so much enjoy the romance part of it.
Natalie Jones, is a well known photographer who suffers with retinal degeneration that has caused her to slowly lose her sight, which she isn’t dealing with very well. Natalie lets few people into her life, and I got the feeling this is because of her grief about her circumstances. Natalie has not had an easy time and after suffering abuse as a child from her mother and knowing she’d go blind, she learned to build up walls to try and protect herself from other’s failing or hurting her. I felt that Natalie was actually pretty strong considering all that she has gone through and is just learning to adjust in the way she knows how.
Special Agent Liam “Mac” Mackenzie is a detective and he’s very good at his job. He’s a divorced, recovering alcoholic, who has kept his distance in relationships with women to avoid the circumstances that led to his divorce, he’s married to his job and he prefers it that way. Not really anything wrong with that if it’s his personality, but it bothered me he didn’t show really and remorse for his ex-wife. Mac really rubbed me the wrong way and came off as a jerk.
I just wasn’t feeling this book or I supposed more accurately I wasn’t feeling the relationship between Natalie and Mac, I just didn’t get it. Natalie’s personality was pretty back and forth, but I could believe that as she is has low self image due to her blindness but when she needs to be, she is ruthless and a fighter when her survival instincts kick in. Mac, on the other hand, I really didn’t like. He’s pretty jealous and his reactions to Natalie even from the beginning with how unprofessional and on the verge of being rude he was. Their relationship felt forced and that they didn’t really take the time to get to know each other before falling into bed with each other, I wondered if they even liked each other or just simply desired each other *shrug*
The suspense aspect of the book, I did enjoy. I thought the plot was interesting enough to keep my interest and wanting to keep reading to find out what happened. He learn pretty early on who the man is who attacked Natalie and some of his motivations, but I really wanted to get to the underneath of his crazy religious thoughts and find out if or who is pulling his puppet stings, so to speak.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Review: Lady Maggie's Secret Scandal by Grace Burrowes

Maggie Windham, oldest of the Windham sisters and a by-blow from His Grace’s pre-marital wild oats, finds herself in desperate needs of an investigator to help her retrieve a missing reticule. Benjamin Hazlit knows the Windham family secrets, and can be trusted to keep them to himself, so Maggie turns to Benjamin, though it means ignoring his too-broad shoulders, his too-knowing smile… and his too-skilled kisses.

As Benjamin starts the search for Maggie’s missing purse, he realizes two things: First, whatever was in that purse, its loss has Maggie not just rattled, but terrified. Second, Benjamin will go to any lengths to see Maggie’s peace of mind restored, even if it means he must keep himself in very close proximity to the shy, secretive lady who says she wants nothing to do with him.


Review:

Lady Maggie’s Secret Scandal is book 5 in the Windham series and book 2 in the sub-series The Duke’s Daughters. I have read and enjoyed each of the books that have come before this one, I’m pretty dedicated to the Windham family ;)
Maggie Windham is the eldest daughter of the Duke of Moreland, and who is also an illegitimate child from before his marriage to his duchess. Maggie was officially adopted by the duke and duchess at the age of 6 and was raised with the rest of the Windham family she is still haunted by her past and biological mother, who is a courtesan and who sold her to the duke and duchess. At 30 years old, she lives on her own and leads a quiet life by choice. She has a quiet intelligence and has set up her own wealth along with helping her brother with finances as well.  She’s not a huge fan of Benjamin Hazlit as she knows that he is an investigator and has a history with her family. But when her reticule is missing with something of great importance to Maggie, Benjamin is the only one she can turn to.
Benjamin Hazlit is a man who is very good at living in the shadows and acquiring information on matters concerning many of the elite family. He is competent, trustworthy, very observant, and is keeping many secrets, including his own.  When Lady Maggie seeks him out for his help, his world turns upside down, and he’s never been more determined then to help Maggie with more than she’s willing to let on she needs help with.
I really liked Maggie and Benjamin’s story. Maggie is so determined to take care of her problems on her own, thinking she’s protecting the ones she loves. I love how even more determined Benjamin is and the more he spends time with Maggie to discuss the investigation, the more and more it leads to other motivations with the growing affection for each other. Benjamin handles the reveal of Maggie’s secrets well and his willingness to help her with all that he is. With the slow revile of Maggie’s secret and the process of Maggie and Benjamin’s relationship, it kept me hooked, needing to find out how it all works out and rooting that Benjamin can break through Maggie’s walls.
One thing that I really enjoy about Grace Burrowes books is how involved the other characters/family members are. I love the Windham family and how mischievous the duke is and his plotting in his children’s lives (although he was more-so in his sons’ lives then his daughters so far).  I really enjoy Grace Burrowes righting and her ability to display the depths of and how genuine the characters’ emotions are.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Review: The Danger That is Damion by Lisa Renee Jones

Lethally passionate, wickedly dangerous...
Renegade warrior Damion Browne is a soldier of soldiers, an enforcer of the code of honor. With ruthless precision, he calculates risks as deliberately as he does his lover's satisfaction. Now it's up to him to defeat a new generation of female Super Soldiers, including the one woman perfectly programmed to
be his downfall.

His enemy...or his soul mate?
Lara Martin has never felt powerful, until she's brainwashed to destroy the one man who can help her find the answers she so desperately seeks. Alone and embroiled in lies, Lara must turn to Damion for the key to the truth ...

Review:

The Danger That is Damion is the 3rd book in the Zodius series, but it’s the 1st one that I’ve read. It was pretty easy to follow along without reading the 2 previous books, but there were some things that I found myself confused about throughout the book. Some things were explained at some point, but others weren’t and it wasn’t until the end that I found a glossary to help explain some of the things I wasn’t sure about.
Over all I really enjoyed this book and I really liked Damion and Lara. This series is about a population known as GTECHs that are humans who were scientifically altered to become “super soldiers”. There have been many things that have occurred since initiating the GTECHs and some of this race has branched off as the Renegades, aka the good guys, which includes Damion and his team. When Damion encounters Lara, she is on assignment to assassinate a scientist that the Renegades are trying to keep safe. She as trouble following through, even those she’s been programmed to do just this. As Damion whisks her away, they start to try to unravel who she is, how she has become a GTECH, which is rare for a female.

Damion is the type of man that always follows the rules and is very honorable. But when it comes to Lara, he finds himself breaking rules for her. He’s determined to help Lara find her past and how to keep herself. I liked him right off the bat, and he his very easy to fall for. Lara is very confused and as she spends more time with Damion, she’s not sure who or what to trust, not even her memories. It took me a while to warm up to Lara, but as the story progressed and I began to understand her motives, that changed and I soon found myself liking her and her spirited attitude. I really liked the banter between Damion and Lara, and when they come together, it is hot!
I was hooked with this book from the beginning. I liked it the whole way through, well except what I didn’t understand from not reading the previous books. I enjoyed the characters and after meeting Michael and Sterling it definitely makes me want to go back and read their books that came 1st. I am hoping that the next book is about Chale, mmmmm I love him just from what I’ve gotten to see of him from this book ;) I will definitely continue reading this series!

Monday, June 4, 2012

ARC Review: The World is a Stage by Tamara Morgan

Highland Games athlete Michael O’Leary is famous for his ability to charm a woman right out of her pants. Maybe a little too famous. When he’s sidelined with a knee injury, his wingman pounces on the chance to take full advantage of Michael’s idle time.

Trying out for the local adult-themed Shakespearean production seems simple, but there’s a catch. Michael must woo the notoriously demanding lead actress, Rachel Hewitt, thereby freeing his friend to pursue a courtship of Rachel’s sister.

Rachel hates the thought of handing over the lead role in her admittedly scandalous troupe to someone so wholly uneducated in the ways of the Great Bard. But she’s in a bind, and the only one who can step up is a man who looks way too good in a codpiece - and knows it.

To add insult to injury, he refuses to take the role until she agrees to take his place in some barbaric warrior race. She’ll do it, but not with a smile. Unfortunately, the hardest part isn’t antagonizing her Scottish foes. It’s resisting the one man who seems determined to line and cue her heart - forever.


Review:

The World is a Stage is the 2nd book in Tamara Morgan’s Games of Love series and just as a absolutely loved the 1st book, Love is a Battlefield, this book was no different.
Michael O’Leary, looooove him! He has such a laid back personality and he uses jokes (often crude jokes) to lighten a tense situations. He is easy going, is able to enter into a situation with his eyes open and doesn’t seem to miss anything. He is very easy to like and fall for J He is part of a team that competes in The Scottish Highland Games, but struggles with a bad knee. But there is much more to Michael then his joking personality and being an athlete.
Rachel Hewitt, her sister Molly are members of a production team that performs adult-themed Shakespeare, as Michael refers to it. Rachel is a pretty hoity person at first glance. She doesn’t seem very approachable and scowls a lot (well, at Michael anyway lol). Rachel didn’t grow up with a very good role model for relationships. She carries a lot of guilt for not being home to help her sister through a difficult time. Therefore, Rachel has made it her duty to prevent Molly from getting into potentially bad relationships, and Molly is currently dating Michael’s friend Eric Peterson. And Michael is recruited to help distract Rachel from interfering into their relationship.
I’ll be honest I really wanted to smack Rachel, often. Now, she has a history that has led her to take the actions she does, and even though she opens up more while hanging out with Michael, I feel Tamara did a great job portraying how easy it is to resort to impulse decisions and take backward steps when scared. Rachel definitely redeemed herself by the end, thankfully. Michael is such a giving person, always helping his friends out and very good at seeing the good in people. Michael takes challenges and is able to turn it around into a positive, such as when he destroys his knee and can’t participate in competitions anymore. I really just can’t get over how much I love his character. I really like how the characters in Tamara’s books are “real”. Now I do normally tend to read paranormal/fantasy genres but I find that these books are refreshing, light, and realistic with the characters she creates and the conflicts they encounter.


Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Review: Under Fire by Catherine Mann

A decorated hero, pararescueman Liam McCabe lives to serve. Six months ago, he and Rachel Flores met in the horrific aftermath of an earthquake in the Bahamas. They were tempted by an explosive attraction, yet parted ways. Still, Liam has thought about Rachel every day—and night—since.

Now, after ignoring all his phone calls for six months, Rachel has turned up on base with a wild story about a high-ranking military traitor. She claims no one but Liam can help her—and she won’t trust anyone else.

With nothing but her word and the testimony of a discharged military cop to go on, Liam would be insane to risk his career—even his life—to help this woman who left him in the dust.




Review:

Liam is the Team Leader for his pararescue unit and his body is reaching the point where it is slowing him down.  He seems to be a romantic guy and wants the whole wife and kids scenario, but with 3 failed marriages he has come to the conclusion that being married to his job doesn’t leave room in his life for a family outside of his teammates. Rachel and Liam met in book 2 Hot Zone while helping out during an earthquake in the Bahamas. This book takes place 6 months after they have returned home and even though Rachel hasn’t returned any of Liam’s phone calls during this time, he just can’t get her out of his head.
Rachel trains service dogs and therapy dogs. This is when she meets Brandon who suffers from PTSD and uses one of her therapy dogs. During a particularly bad episode, Brandon reveals some delicate information that implies treason. Rachel is very passionate about helping people and very committed. She tries to help Brandon be heard but no one takes them seriously and even makes attempts on their lives. Even though Rachel has tried to keep her distance from Liam she finds herself turning to him desperate for his help and believes he is the only one she trusts.

This story has an interesting villain and what he’s willing to do to move up in the ranks of the military. We find out pretty quickly who the villain is and at first I wasn’t sure if that was a good idea to disclose that information, but as it went on, the real suspense was deciding who is working for or against him. There are a couple people that play the double roles well and I was trying to figure it out what side they were really on until the end.
Rachel and Liam have a lot of obstacles to overcome and it’s amazing the lengths that they will both go to see things right and to attempt at a future together. I felt this story moved and flowed felt believable. I really enjoyed getting to see some of the team members again from the previous books and I love the connection between them all and what they are willing to do for each other. Under Fire is the third book in the Elite Force series and even it would be easy to follow this book without reading the previous ones, I highly recommending reading them all as they are all fantastic.

Monday, May 21, 2012

ARC Review: Lethal Rider (Lords of Deliverance #3) by Larissa Ione

They're here.
They ride.
The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse

Born of a match between good and evil, four siblings stand between hell's minions and everything they want to destroy. They are the Lords of Deliverance, and they have the power to ward off Doomsday . . . or let it ride . . .

LETHAL RIDER

Thanatos, the most deadly Horseman of the Apocalypse, has endured thousands of years of celibacy to prevent the end of days. But just one night with the wickedly sexy Aegis Guardian, ReganCooper, shatters centuries of resolve. Yet their passion comes with a price. And Thanatos must face a truth more terrifying than an apocalypse-he's about to become a father.

Demon-slayer Regan Cooper never imagined herself the maternal type, but with the fate of the world hanging in the balance she had no choice but to seduce Thanatos and bear his child. Now, as the final battle draws closer and his rage at being betrayed is overshadowed by an undeniable passion for the mother of his child, Thanatos has a life-shattering realization: To save the world, he must sacrifice the only thing he's ever wanted-a family.


Review:

Lethal Rider is the third book in Larissa Ione’s Lords of Deliverance series, which is a spinoff of her Demonica series. I have read and loved each and every book J 
Lethal Rider picks up about 8 months after the last book with Thanatos being help in a state of incapacitation with really only his thoughts to occupy his time as he thinks about Regan and how she betrayed him. We find Regan 8 ½ months pregnant, living in The Aegis Headquarters. She is trying to keep her emotional distance from the baby and although she did what was her duty to get pregnant by Thanatos, she doesn’t feel like she’s mother material and has prepared to give the baby to another couple to raise and keep safe.
Right from the start this book is full of action. Thanatos is able to get free of his incapacitation and is drawn to a scene of death and as Regan is attached by vampires that have gotten loose in headquarters. Thanatos is surprisingly drawn to something new that isn’t death. When investigates this he encounters Regan and becomes angry when he sees her. He’s so blinded by his anger that he doesn’t even notice she’s pregnant and once she brings him up to speed that the baby is his, he decides to kidnap Regan from The Aegis.
Thanatos is one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, also known as Death. He has chosen a life of solitude, except for his vampire servants. He’s had a tough time in the past with his death rages and being denied one thing he always wished to have, a family.  Thanatos really grew on me with his quirky sense of humor and how he felt guilty for his harsh words and made a noticeable effort to change his approach with Regan. Regan was pretty kick ass for a pregnant woman. She’s pretty limited in what she can do but when she needs it, she is fierce. I really liked the inside look to Regan’s struggle with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)  and how she deals to have control over something when everything else is out of her control. With being a Social Worker, I was able to appreciate this part of Regan since I’ve had experience with clients with OCD.
I thought that Than and Regan were perfect together, both growing up so lonely and feeling they have to keep their distances from others to minimize hurting them because of their abilities. Both of them are inexperienced in so many things that deal with tender emotions and that it made me happy for them that they can find what they’ve been missing in each other. Also now that I am a mother myself, there is something so much more attractive in a man who is so on board with the whole baby thing and Than is that man *happy sigh* Lethal Rider is full of action, betrayal, and secrets and twists that I didn’t predict and I loved it.